Changing Habits · FODMAP

Low FODMAP and the hcg protocol: what you can eat

I wanted to heal my gut and  I also had some weight to lose. Most programs focus on one or the other, but not both. And then my mother in law did the Changing Habit’s hcg protocol. It’s extreme, but it combines weight loss with a focus on wholefoods, increased nutrition and ultimately, understanding how your body works with different foods . Bingo!

Unfortunately, I also follow a low FODMAP and low nightshades diet to control IBS symptoms. At first I thought that I could throw the low FODMAP thing out the window – maybe such a wholefood-focused diet would miraculously solve all my dietary woes?

It was not to be. Eating any of the foods I typically avoid (garlic, broccoli, cauliflower) caused dietary distress and weight GAIN.

So, with some reluctance, I stuck back to the low FODMAP foods. Going low FODMAP was be hard, and doing it together with the hcg protocol is even harder. The rewards for those who stick with it though, are extremely satisfying.

So below is a quick guide on what vegetables you can eat while in phase 2 of the hcg protocol, and stay low FODMAP. It’s based on the Changing Habits hcg protocol and the Monash University FODMAP app. You can also eat papaya, most berries, oranges, grapefuit and lemon. The only other foods you can really have are lean proteins – these generally are low FODMAPs, so I haven’t included them here.

FODMAP vege.png
All the vegetables you can have on Phase 2 of the hcg protocol, while staying low FODMAP. It’s getting pretty green!
Leave a Reply

