Changing Habits

Changing habits protocol: day 18 and chicken and fennel salad

So although I’ve already started the protocol, I realised I need to keep track of what is happening as I go through it. The fog irritability of the first two weeks has lifted.

So here’s where I’m at:

Starting weight on Phase 2, Day 1: 81.2 kgs
Current weight on Phase 2, Day 18: 75.5 kgs
Loss to date: -5.7 kgs

Unfortunately, weight loss has stalled. TWO WHOLE DAYS with no change. And I may have slipped up, just a little, with some tomatoes a few days ago.

But all that aside, what I wanted to share was a delicious recipe using fennel. Given all my food limitations, I need to eat all the vegetable varieties that I possibly can. I recently cross-checked my food lists for the changing habits protocol, FODMAPs and nightshades, and realised I wasn’t eating fennel and I could have!

So here is a 5 minute, delicious fennel salad.

Fennel, orange and chicken salad
(FODMAP, nightshade free and Changing Habits phase 2 compliant)

Ingredients

100g chicken breast per serving, sliced thinly
1cup fennel per serving, sliced thinly
Sea salt and freshly cracked black pepper to taste
1 tbsp fennel seeds
1 tsp ground cumin
40g lemon juice
Lettuce (e.g. iceberg)
Spring onions
Chopped fresh parsley
Orange (optional)

Method

  1. Mix chicken, fennel, spices, s&p and lemon juice in a bowl.
  2. Fry in a non-stick pan (we use a sandwich press), approx 5 minutes (or as long as it takes you to prepare the greens)
  3. Chop lettuce, spring onions, parsley and orange (if using) and arrange in a bowl.
  4. Pop the chicken and fennel mix on top, serve!

This recipe is adapted from a fennel and chicken bake recipe from the HCG protocol facebook group – adapt for a bake if you have time. 

Leave a Reply

